Dirt Track Racing News

Marriott shines at Hancock County's Night of 1,000 Stars

2018-08-10 18:30

BRITT, Iowa (Aug. 9) - Hunter Marriott starred on a different night Thursday at Hancock County Speedway.

Marriott battled Cayden Carter and Kyle Strickler before taking charge late in Thursday's 24th annual Night of 1,000 Stars main event at Britt, earning $3,500 for the 50-lap IMCA Modified victory.

"I was patient and when I had opportunities I took advantage of them," Marriott said following his latest Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot-qualifying win. "I got to second right away after the break and passed for the lead with about eight laps to go."

Last year's event runner-up as well as the two-time defending Night of 10,000 Stars winner, Marriott had worked his way toward the front from the 12th starting spot as early leader Strickler gave way to Carter following a restart.

Carter was dominant to the mandatory pit stop on lap 25, pocketing $1,000 for leading at halfway.

Marriott was up to third at that point and soon in pursuit of Strickler after the race went back to green.

The last 25 laps ran caution-free and Strickler, Marriott and Carter battled back and forth the last 10 times around the oval.

Strickler and Marriott touched twice racing for the lead before Marriott was able to work his way through lapped traffic and pull ahead by a couple car lengths.

Carter, Strickler, Mike Mashl and Jeff Aikey completed the top five. Kelly Shryock started 19th and finished sixth.

Marriott gets a chance to run for another big Night of 10,000 Stars payday on Friday. The winner of that event goes home with at least $7,000 and as much as $10,000. The $3,000 to win Bob Shryock Memorial All Stars special is Saturday at Britt.

Both events will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Night of 1,000 Stars was sponsored by Doug Studer Farms and Brakke Implement.

George Nordman won the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature and $750. The $600 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car win went to Jake Masters and Cody Nielsen topped the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks for a $500 check.

Feature results - 1. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 2. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 3. Kyle Strickler, Troutman, N.C.; 4. Mike Mashl, DePere, Wis.; 5. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 6. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 7. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay, Wis.; 8. Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 9. Tim Ward, Chandler, Ariz.; 10. Todd Van Eaton, Orient; 11. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 12. Jeremy Mills, Garner; 13. Clay Money, Penokee, Kan.; 14. Mike Mullen, Seymour, Wis.; 15. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck; 16. Josh Long, Suamico, Wis.; 17. Tom Berry Jr., Medford, Ore.; 18. Aaron Benson, Clear Lake; 19. Randy Foote, Stanton; 20. Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D.; 21. Kody Scholpp, Estevan, Sask.; 22. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 23. Nick Meyer, Whittemore; 24. Stacey Mills, Webb; 25. Troy Swearingen, Thompson; 26. Jay Noteboom, Hinton; 27. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, Minn.; 28. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 29. Jesse Hoeft, Forest City; 30. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 31. Ryan Ruter, Clear Lake.